Incumbents lead KBIC primary field

BARAGA — Incumbents led the way in the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community’s Tribal Council primary election Saturday.

The two incumbents in the Baraga and L’Anse District led vote-getters. The top four in each district advance to the general election in December. The top two in each district’s general election are elected to three-year terms.

In the Baraga District, incumbent Doreen Blaker got 109 votes, followed by Robert D. Curtis (54), Michael P. Lahti (76), Kim Klopstein (50), Jery Magnant “Mayo” (42)Robert “Robbie” Mayo (36), Debbie Parrish (38) and Don Messer, Jr. (37).

In L’Anse, incumbent Randy Haataja got the most votes with 59, followed by incumbent Toni J. Minton (53), Lyndon Ekdahl (36), Chris C. Voakes (34) and Jean Jokinen (29).

A third of the 12-person council is up for election each year.