Turnout expected to rise for Tribal Council election

Eight candidates are competing for four seats on the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community Tribal Council in the general election to be held on Dec. 16.

The eight candidates were selected during the November primary election.

According to Diana Chaudier, chairwoman of the KBIC Election Board, the November Primary Election’s voter turnout was lower than usual.

“That percentage is down from previous years,” she said.

There was a 48 percent turnout, with only 339 voters out of the 708 registered voters.

However, Chaudier expects the turnout to be higher for the general election.

The candidates are split between incumbents and newcomers. The four incumbents include two representing Baraga — Doreen Blaker and Randy Haataja — and two representing L’anse — Randy Haataja and Toni J. Minton.

The candidates representing Baraga are Michael P. Lahti and Kim Klopstein. For L’anse, they are Lyndon Ekdahl and Chris C. Voakes.

Voters from each district will cast their ballot at their designated polling places. The two candidates from each district with the most votes will advance.

Voters residing in the Baraga District will vote at the Ojibwa Senior Citizens Center.

Voters residing in the L’Anse District will vote at the Zeba Community Hall.

Polls will be open from 10 a.m. until 6 p.m.

Only registered voters will be permitted to vote.