Large turnout in area school board races

Kali Katerberg/Daily Mining Gazette Voters across the Copper Country on Tuesday chose candidates to serve on their local school board.

HOUGHTON — Tuesday was a busy day for school board elections across the Copper Country, amid one of the highest voter turnouts on record.

The Calumet-Laurium-Keweenaw School Board had two members, Maria Campioni and Phyllis Locatelli, elected to fill board vacancies.

On the Chassell Township School Board, Tanya Etelamaki received 669 votes, Carl Olson received 609 votes and Roger J. Tervo captured 645 votes out of a total of 1,923 votes cast.

For the Dollar Bay-Tamarack School Board, David W. Maki was unopposed.

Gogebic-Ontonagon Intermediate School District Board race saw Russ Baily capture 52 votes, and Ann Wuorinen received 33.

In Houghton-Portage Township School Board elections, Brad Baltensperger received 1,926 votes, and Nels S. Christopherson won 1,740. Amanda Massaway was unopposed for a partial term.

In the Lake Linden-Hubbell School District, the board saw Curtis Audette receive 1,018 votes, and Jennifer Beaudette received 1,133. Stacey Sedar was unopposed for a two-year partial term. For partial four-year terms, Lori Ambuehl received 1,163 votes, and Patricia Burton received 965.

In the Stanton Township School Board election, Sarah Anderson received 545 votes, and Janie Haataja received 480.