Calumet government undergoing reshuffling

CALUMET – The Calumet Village Board will have all seven seats filled after the Nov. 8 election, but for a while Village Administrator Rob Tarvis wasn’t certain that would happen.

As the July 26 deadline to file to be a candidate for the November general election approached, few people had filed for the five available seats, he said..

“As of a week ago, only (two people) had filed,” he said. “I was concerned.”

However, according to Calumet Township Clerk Beth Salmela, five people had filed for the three available seats with four-year terms, and four people had filed for the two available seats with two-year terms. Filings for trustees and other government positions are done with the township clerk.

Filing for the four-year terms were Sharon Abramson, incumbent Thomas Bowles, Richard Buchko, Jim Camp, and Virginia Dwyer. Filing for the two-year terms were incumbent Sidney Dharmavaram, Mary Hunt, Sandra Johnson, and Tyler Ross.

Filing for the four-year-term treasurer position was Stephani Camp. Nathan Anderson and Tarvis filed for the four-year-term clerk position. Incumbent clerk Sue Bies is resigning the position with two years left on the term, but said she would stay on the help until a new clerk is elected.

Tarvis said President Dave Geisler and Trustee Peggy Germain still have two years on their terms. Trustee Jim Flood resigned last winter, and trustees Tim Bies and Doug Harrer chose not to run this time.

Although he is village administrator, Tarvis said if he’s elected clerk, he thinks he’ll be able to both jobs.

All positions for the Nov. 8 ballot are nonpartisan.