Keweenaw chooses Casperson

EAGLE RIVER – Voters in Keweenaw County chose current State Sen. Tom Casperson for the Ist District congressional seat of Rep. Dan Benishek over two other Republican candidates.

Casperson, R-Escanaba, received 194 votes. Republican Jason Allen received 22 votes, and Republican Jack Bergman received 126 votes. Benishek, R-Crystal falls, chose not to seek re-election.

On the Democratic side of the ballot for the 1st District seat, Jerry Cannon received 79 votes, and Lon Johnson received 151 votes.

For the 110th District Michigan House of Representatives seat, incumbent Scott Dianda, D-Calumet, received 256 votes, and Gregory Markkanen, R-Hancock, received 235 votes. The two candidates will face each other in the Nov. 8 general election.

Attorney Charles Miller, who ran as a Democrat for Keweenaw County Prosecuting Attorney, received 235 votes. He was the only candidate on the Tuesday ballot for the position.

There were some millage requests on the Keweenaw County ballot, also.

In Eagle Harbor

In Grant Township, voters approved the operating millage by a vote of 52 to 34. The fire millage passed by a vote of 66 to 22. Voters approved the school operating millage by a vote of 59 to 10.

Voters approved the Sherman Township operating millage by a vote of 24 to 12.