Baraga County Board fills positions

Vanessa Dietz/Daily Mining Gazette Pictured from the left are Baraga County Treasurer Anne Koski, County Board Chairman Mike Koskinen, Deputy Clerk Kim Fedie, Commisioner Bill Rolof, Vice Chairman Gale Eilola and Commisioner Bill Menge.

BARAGA — The Baraga County Board re-elected its chairman and vice chairman and filled a few other position as well.

Chairman Mike Koskinen and Vice Chairman Gale Eilola will continue to head the board, which tackled several appointments on its agenda for Monday’s meeting.

Baraga County Clerk Wendy Goodreau was appointed chief executive officer, and Treasurer Anne Koski was named chief administrative officer for another year.

In addition, the board appointed Deanna Foucault to the Baraga County Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees, Eilola to the UPWARD Talent Council with Commissioner Bill Menge as alternate, William Borland and Douglas Holma to the Veterans Affairs Board.

Convergen Energy CEO Ted Hansen came to meet board members about the company’s acquisition of the former L’Anse Warden Electric Company. He said the current staff will stay on the job.

“We like the employees,” said Hanson, who similarly addressed the L’Anse Village Council in November. “We think they’re a sharp group. We want to be an important part of your community.”

Headquarters in Green Bay, Convergen provides alternative fuels and renewable sources of power, reducing the carbon footprint of its customers.