Houghton County Election Results

HOUGHTON — A variety of Houghton County, city, village and township races and millages were decided in Tuesday’s general election.

Houghton County

Probate Court Judge Fraser Strome (10,353) won an uncontested race.

Calumet Township

A fire department millage increase of 1.35 mills for eight years for fire protection, support and maintenance was approved 1,045 to 365.

Chassell Township

Voters approved a 0.5-mill, five-year millage for the operation of recreational projects adopted in the Chassell Township Recreation Plan by a 484-439 vote.

Copper City

Lesley Koski (51), Bradley Bukema (46) and Dan Bardo (41) were elected to three seats.

Franklin Township

Democrat Ashley Kela (470 votes) was elected clerk.

Houghton City Council

Dan Salo (977), Bob Backon (965), Robert Megowen (935) and Mike Needham (880) were elected to four council terms.

Laird Township

Democrat Patrick McLaren defeated Republican Brian Wilder 153-105 for Laird Township Supervisor. Republican Nicole Krajnak (215) was elected treasurer.

Lake Linden

Glenn Schuldt (337) was elected village president. William Heide (289), Shanda Miller (275) and James Aittama (273) were elected to three trustee seats. John Codere (351) was elected to a partial term as trustee.

Laurium Village

Voters approved 1 mill for four years for snow removal operations by a 590-188 vote. Krista Carlson (565), Jeff Erickson (483) and Steve Lanctot (483) were elected to three trustee seats. Amy Schneiderhan (681) was elected to a partial trustee term.

Osceola Township

Voters approved a renewal of a 3-mill, five-year millage for road, sidwalk and drainage purposes 575 to 237.

Portage Township

Republican Amy Skewes defeated Democrat Tressa Alvarado in the clerk race 794-590. In the treasurer race, Republican Christine Abramson defeated independent candidate Betsy Elizabeth Smith 768-539.

Schoolcraft Township

Josh Loukus (656) was elected trustee.

Stanton Township

Voters approved a renewal of a 2-mill, five-year millage for general township road improvement 508 to 216.

John Mattila (492) and Michael Pionke (45) were elected as trustees.

Torch Lake Township

Voters approved a road millage 667 to 323. Democrat Kathyrn Moore (664) was elected treasurer.