Congratulations to ski, boarding hall of famers

Welcome to the Class of 2016 who are in Ishpeming this weekend for their formal enshrinement.

Nine individuals were enshrined this weekend in the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame in Ishpeming, the birthplace of organized skiing in the United States.

This year’s inductees are president of the National Ski Areas Association Michael Berry; Dan and John Egan, the brothers who have starred in countless Warren Miller films; ski jumping Olympian and coach Jeff Hastings; Copper Mountain conceiver Chuck Lewis; professional snowboarder Shaun Palmer; athlete and author Ellen Post Foster; freestyle icon and ambassador Marion Post Caldwell; National Ski Patrol visionary Gretchen Rous Besser; and ski marketing and trade-show impresario Bernie Weichsel, a global ambassador for skiing.

We congratulate both this class of 2016 and all of those who work to keep the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame such an integral part of the Upper Peninsula culture.