Another successful STEM Festival

To the editor:

We are writing to thank the many people who made it possible to conduct the 21st annual Western Upper Peninsula Science Fair and STEM Festival that took place on March 19 at Michigan Tech, coordinated by the Western UP STEM Network and MTU Center for Science & Environmental Outreach.

First, we’d like to thank the more than 130 students in grades 4-8 who submitted projects, and for their parents & guardians who supported their curiosity and hard work. Many thanks to the participating schools: C-L-K Elementary, Houghton Elementary; South Range Elementary; Lake Linden-Hubbell Middle School; Houghton Middle School; Washington Middle School; Ewen-Trout Creek Middle School, and LL Wright Middle School in Ironwood.

We’d like to thank the 100 Michigan Tech students from 15 student organizations who offered more than 30 different hands-on activities for the STEM Festival: FIRST Robotics Houghton Middle School, Society of Physics Student Chapter, Engineering Ambassadors, Railroad Engineering Activities Club, Materials United – Materials Science Engineering, Women in Natural Resources, Society of Women Engineers, MTU Sustainability House, Dollar Bay High School SOAR, Mind Trekkers, Society of Environmental Engineering, Optics & Phototonics Society, Biomedical Engineering, Keweenaw Rocket Range, and Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honors Society.

Invaluable assistance was provided by Omega Chi Epsilon Chemical Engineering Honor Society, the Copper Country Intermediate School District, and the more than fifty volunteer judges.

The Western UP Science Fair and STEM Festival is made possible with financial contributions from the following: Michigan Tech Dept. of Mathematical Sciences; Dept. of Mechanical Engineering – Engineering Mechanics; Dept. of Social Sciences, Earth, Planetary, and Space Sciences Institute; Ecosystem Science Center; Great Lakes Research Center; Pavlis Honors College, School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science; School of Technology; Sustainable Futures Institute; and the Michigan Tech Transportation Institute.

We are looking forward to next year!

Emily E. Gochis


Joan Chadde