Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Trail Report | Today in Print | Frontpage | Services | Home RSS

Courthouse millage passes in Keweenaw Cty.

August 8, 2012
By STACEY KUKKONEN - DMG writer ( , The Daily Mining Gazette

EAGLE RIVER - A proposal for the Keweenaw County Courthouse and grounds repairs passed 236 to 139 in Tuesday's primary election.

County Proposal A asked for an increase by .5 mills (50 cents per $1,000 of taxable value) for the years 2012 through 2015 inclusive for courthouse/jail buildings and grounds improvements, which will raise an estimated $64,633 in the first year.

In July, county commissioner Don Piche stressed the importance of preserving the courthouse, situated in Eagle River.

"This is a beautiful building that has been neglected," he said in a July article for The Daily Mining Gazette.

Running unopposed, county prosecuting attorney Donna Jaaskelainen garnered 163 votes among the five precincts, county sheriff Ron Lahti received 205 votes, clerk Julie Carlson received 193 votes, treasurer Geri Hall received 185 votes, mine inspector James Kaura received 177 votes and partial county road commissioner Gordon Jaaskelainen received 168 votes. For the full-term county road commissioner seat, Republican John Karvonen received 131 votes and Democrat Ernest Mooney received 147 votes.

County commissioner seat District 1 was the only district with one individual running in each party. Republican Don Keith garnered 86 votes while Democrat Don Piche garnered 61 votes. Running unopposed, Del Rajala received 18 votes for the District 3 seat, Frank Stubenrauch received 32 votes for the District 4 seat and Randy Eckloff received 22 votes for the District 5 seat.

In Allouez Township, Kevin Gherna received 54 votes, Amy Garrow received 53 votes, Mark Aho received 55 votes and Victor Tanskanen received 81 votes for various seats.

In Eagle Harbor Township, Rich Probst received 64 votes, Jeane Olson received 40 votes, Ann Johnson received 54 votes and Don Keith received 63 votes for various seats. Connie Eddy received 56 votes and Richard Harrer received 51 votes.

In Grant Township, Ken Stigers received 32 votes, Alexander Protzel received 31 votes, Kelly Coltas received 38 votes, Karen Karl received 23 votes, Ned Huwatschek received 30 votes and Art Davis received 36 votes for various seats.

In Houghton Township, James Vivian received 16 votes, Carol Jones received 18 votes, Shari Chase received six votes, Mary Long received 15 votes and Jack Treganowan received 14 votes for various seats.

In Sherman Township, Rob Middlemis-Brown received 11 votes, Adeline Schmidt received nine votes, Marilyn Kastelic received 12 votes, Robert Strykowski received 10 votes and Deneen Connell received nine votes for various seats.

Eagle Harbor's operating millage passed 65 to 53 votes. Grant Township's operating millage "A" passed 42 to 23 votes and operating "B" millage for fire services passed 49 to 17. Operating millage "A" in Sherman Township passed 17 to 4 votes and the operating "B" millage passed 16 to 5 votes.

About 24 percent of Keweenaw County's registered voters turned out to vote Tuesday with 455 of 1,923 registered voters participating.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web