Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Trail Report | Today in Print | Frontpage | Services | Home RSS

Rantala prevails in sheriff’s race

August 8, 2012
By STACEY KUKKONEN - DMG writer ( , The Daily Mining Gazette

ONTONAGON - Dale Rantala defeated Donald Lorendo for the Ontonagon County Sheriff's position in Tuesday's primary election.

Both running as Democrats, Rantala received 1,118 votes while Lorendo received 234 votes.

"I'm honored the people of Ontonagon County had the confidence in me," Rantala said this morning in a phone interview.

Rantala, currently undersheriff, said he decided to run when sheriff John Gravier announced his retirement. Rantala will appear on the November ballot.

About 30 percent, or 1,782 of 5,875, registered voters in Ontonagon County, turned out to vote Tuesday.

In the race for county commissioner seats, Republican Jill Johnson received 50 votes and Democrat Dennis O'Brien received 237 votes. Both are running for the District 1 seat. Hubert Lukkari received 236 votes for the District 2 seat, John Pelkola received 162 votes for the District 3 seat, Carl Nykanen received 211 votes for the District 4 seat and Dale Parent received 215 votes for the District 5 seat. Candidates in districts 2-5 were unopposed.

Democrat James Jessup received 917 votes for the county prosecuting attorney seat and Republican Jesse Monville received 230.

All four county-wide millages passed. The public transit millage passed by a 1,117 to 469 margin, the emergency medical services passed 1,354 to 231, the Community Action Agency proposal passed 1,099 to 474 and the county veterans association passed 1,093 to 314.

The Bohemia Township proposal passed 25 to 2 votes, the Interior Township fire operating millage passed 50 to 27 votes, the Interior Township road millage passed 48 to 29 votes, the Matchwood Township proposal passed 22 to 17 votes and the McMillan Township proposal passed 105 to 12 votes.

Running against others in their parties:

Dave Anderson received 31 votes and David Roberts received 24 votes for the Bergland Township trustee seat.

Robert Rotundo received 82 votes and Joanne Wood received 88 votes for the Ontonagon Township park seat.

Jill Lannet received 26 votes and Clair Streeter received 27 votes for the Stannard Township trustee seat.

Ken Berry received 69 votes, William Johnson received 73 votes, Robert Schulz received 79 votes and Kimberly Sims 68 votes for the Ontonagon 1 delegate seat.

Theresa Sandford received 15 votes and Betty Wiitala received 18 votes for the Bohemia Township trustee seat.

Nancy Reath received 58 votes and Jackie Wiseman received 44 votes for the Carp Lake Township clerk seat.

Rose Holtz received 18 votes and Gerald Mattson received 21 votes for the Haight Township trustee seat.

Roseanna Larrin received 23 votes and Patsy Wall received 53 votes for the Interior Township trustee seat.

Catherine Hirsack received 41 votes and Kristen Lind received 65 votes for the McMillan Township treasurer seat.

Gary Fors received 91 votes and Daniel Staff Sr. received 70 votes for the McMillan Township trustee seat.

Brenda Hamm received 314 votes and Charles Maki received 363 votes for the Ontonagon Township Trustee seat.

Robert Burrows received 373 votes, Sandra Hauswirth received 361 votes, Elmer Marks Jr. received 327 votes, Deborah Slye received 325 votes, James Miles received 370 votes and Mike White received 314 votes for the Ontonagon Township park seat.

Charles Pantti received 38 votes and Patricia Racine received 36 votes for the Rockland Township trustee seat.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web