Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Trail Report | Today in Print | Frontpage | Services | Home RSS

Houghton Cty. board races

October 31, 2012
By GARRETT NEESE and KURT HAUGLIE - DMG writers (, , The Daily Mining Gazette

HOUGHTON - Here are the city council and township board races in Houghton County included on the Nov. 6 ballot.

In Hancock, two write-in candidates will compete for the partial term ending in 2014 at-large seat created when former council member James Hainault resigned after he moved out of the city. The remaining council members appointed Barry Givens, the Hancock mayor who preceded current Mayor William Laitila, to fill the seat until the November election, and he is one of the write-in candidates. The other is Kevin Hodur.

Also on the Hancock city ballot are incumbent council members Laitila for Ward 1, Jeremie Moore for Ward 2 and John Slivon for Ward 3, all of whom are unopposed for four-year terms.

In Houghton, Mayor Bob Backon and Councilors Craig Kurtz and Rachel Lankton are running unopposed for four-year terms. Councilor Dan Salo is running for a partial term ending Nov. 4, 2014.

Adams Township

Supervisor Denny Mulari (R), Clerk Debbie Pindral (D), Treasurer Nancy Immonen (D) and Trustees David Mattila (D) and Kim Sohlden (D) are running unopposed.

Village of South Range

President Michael J. Rompf is challenged by Martin Steinmetz. Clerk Elvera Detki, Treasurer Marlene Perfetti, Trustees Naomi Fish, Justin Marier, Arbutus Paoli and Russell DeForge are running unopposed.

Calumet Township

Supervisor Paul Lehto (R), Clerk Beth Salmela (R), Treasurer Debra Aubin (R), Trustee Dona Schneiderhan (D) and Trustees Timothy Gasperich (R), David Yeo (R) and Robert Zander (R) are running unopposed.

Copper City Village

President Diana Langdon, Treasurer Jenifer Laramore and Trustees Dawn Bardo and Deborah Paavola are running unopposed.

Calumet Village

Tim Bies, David Geisler, Douglas William Harrer and Stephanie Swartzendruber are running unopposed for trustee (see Page 3A).

Laurium Village

Walter Fish, Kevin Harju, Loralee Miller and Dale Ninko are running for three four-year trustee terms. President Don Bausano, Clerk Patricia Golus and Treasurer Jon Koskiniemi are running unopposed.

Chassell Township

Daniel Palosaari (D), George Rajala (D) and Ryan Kuntze (R) are running for two trustee seats. Supervisor David Mattson (R), Clerk June Michaelson-Haataja (D) and Treasurer Kelly Holmes (R) are running unopposed.

Duncan Township

Kathleen Allen and Rebecca Ferrell are running for clerk. Supervisor Frank Pentti, Treasurer Jane Wyatt and Trustees Barbara Passmore and Joy Sanford are running unopposed.

Elm River Township

President Shawn Hagan is running against challenger Joe Siller. Trustee John Kelly (D), and challengers Dale Baumler Jr. (D), and Richard Trudgeon (I) are running for two trustee seats. Clerk Robert Sibilsky (R) and Treasurer Lisa Saatio (R) are running unopposed.

Franklin Township

Incumbent Trustees John Laitainen (D) and Daniel Dulong (R) and challenger Mary Sears (R) are running for two trustee seats. Supervisor Glenn Ekdahl (D) and Clerk Mary Brunet (D) are running unopposed.

Hancock Township

Supervisor Paul Kemppainen, Clerk Richard Hauswirth, Treasurer Richard Richards and Trustees Paul Moilanen and Ken Moyle are running unopposed.

Laird Township

Supervisor Duane Fedie (D), Clerk Elaine Peterson Vassel (D), Treasurer Kim Fedie (D), Trustees Patricia Spencer (D) and Edward Hulkonen Jr. (R), and Constable Francis Tossava (D) are running unopposed.

Osceola Township

Incumbent Trustees Bonnie Joyal (D) and Aaron Janke (R) are running against challenger Donald Wareham (D) for two trustee seats. Supervisor Steven Karpiak (R), Clerk Judy Odgers (R) and Treasurer Mary Ringler (D) are running unopposed.

Portage Township

Supervisor Bruce Petersen (D) is challenged by Mike Wilmers (R). Treasurer Carol Little (R) is running against Quincy Higgins Arney (I). Trustees Peggy Lee Anderson (D), John Ollila (D), James Zerbst (D) and Mark Jalkanen (I) are challenged by Bill Bingham (R), Andrew Kemper (R) and Jonathan Stone (I) for four trustee seats. Clerk candidate Jamie Solka (R) and Constables Roy Britz (R) and Robert Laux (R) are running unopposed.

Quincy Township

Supervisor Glenn North (R), Clerk Delores Kangas (D), Treasurer Michael P. Goudge (D) and Trustees Chris Kangas (D) and Dennis Raasio (R) are running unopposed.

Schoolcraft Township

Supervisor Joel Keranen (R) is running against challenger Sam Buschell (D). Mary Beth Hodges (D) and Gary Wenberg (R) are running for clerk. Treasurer Dennis Racine is running uncontested. Kevin Codere (D), Susan Marcotte (D) and Gerald Primeau (R) are running for three trustee positions.

Lake Linden Village

President Edward Fisher, trustee candidate David Tobias and Trustees Allan Hoffman, Glenn A. Schuldt, and William Heide are running unopposed.

Stanton Township

Supervisor David Chard (R), Clerk Kara Heinonen (R), Treasurer Lori Anderson (R) and Trustees John Anderson and Janet Larson (R) are running unopposed.

Torch Lake Township

Mary Isola (D) and Tamar Cieslinski (R) are running for clerk. Treasurer Diane Zurcher (R) is challenged by Dennis Pini (I). Supervisor Brian Cadwell (D), Trustee Brian Foreman (D) and trustee candidate Scott Sapino (D) are running unopposed.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web