Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Trail Report | Today in Print | Frontpage | Services | Home RSS

KBIC primary election results

November 5, 2012
By GARRETT NEESE - DMG writer ( , The Daily Mining Gazette

BARAGA - Eight candidates advanced to the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community Tribal Council general election after primary elections held Saturday.

In the Baraga District, the four top votegetters were incumbent Warren "Chris" Swartz Jr. (127 votes), Don Messer Jr. (73), Gary Loonsfoot Sr. (72) and incumbent Jerry Lee Curtis (68). The L'Anse district's top four were incumbent Susan J. LaFernier (70), Jennifer Misegan (64), incumbent Eddy Edwards (43) and David Haataja (28).

The candidates move on to the general election on Dec. 15.

Article Photos

Garrett Neese/Daily Mining Gazette
A sign directs Keweenaw Bay Indian Community voters to the primary election polls is seen in Baraga Saturday. Eight board candidates advanced to the general election set for Dec. 15.

Other candidates in Baraga were: Virginia "Ginnyann" Jermac (60), Michael Cardinal (51), Thomas E. Chosa Jr. (48) and Robert A. Ellsworth (10). The remaining candidates in L'Anse were: Charles Gauthier (26), Gerald P. Jondreau (25), Lyndon Ekdahl (17) and William "Gene" Emery (17).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web