Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Trail Report | Today in Print | Frontpage | Services | Home RSS

Houghton County city, township races

Numerous board members elected Tuesday

November 7, 2012
By GARRETT NEESE - DMG writer ( , The Daily Mining Gazette

HOUGHTON - These are the city council and township board races in Houghton County included on the Nov. 6 ballot.

In Hancock, Barry Givens defeated Kevin Hodur 239 to 52 for the partial term ending in 2014 at-large seat created when former council member James Hainault resigned after he moved out of the city. The remaining council members had appointed Givens, the Hancock mayor who preceded current Mayor William Laitila, to fill the seat until the November election.

Running unopposed for four-year terms were Laitila for Ward 1, Jeremie Moore for Ward 2 and John Slivon for Ward 3.

In Houghton, Mayor Bob Backon and Councilors Craig Kurtz and Rachel Lankton ran unopposed for four-year terms. Councilor Dan Salo was elected to a partial term ending Nov. 4, 2014.

Adams Township

Supervisor Denny Mulari (Republican), Clerk Debbie Pindral (Democrat), Treasurer Nancy Immonen (D) and Trustees David Mattila (D) and Kim Sohlden (D) ran unopposed.

Village of South Range

Martin Steinmetz defeated Michael J. Rompf for president, 158 to 97. Clerk Elvera Detki, Treasurer Marlene Perfetti, Trustees Naomi Fish, Justin Marier, Arbutus Paoli and Russell DeForge ran unopposed.

Calumet Township

Supervisor Paul Lehto (R), Clerk Beth Salmela (R), Treasurer Debra Aubin (R), Trustee Dona Schneiderhan (D) and Trustees Timothy Gasperich (R), David Yeo (R) and Robert Zander (R) ran unopposed.

Copper City Village

President Diana Langdon, Treasurer Jenifer Laramore and Trustees Dawn Bardo and Deborah Paavola ran unopposed.

Calumet Village

Tim Bies, David Geisler, Douglas William Harrer and Stephanie Swartzendruber ran unopposed for trustee. There were no candidates for the president or board clerk positions.

Laurium Village

Walter Fish (304), Kevin Harju (517) and Loralee Miller (530) won four-year trustee terms; Dale Ninko received 277 votes. President Don Bausano, Clerk Patricia Golus and Treasurer Jon Koskiniemi ran unopposed.

Chassell Township

Daniel Palosaari (D, 544 votes) and Ryan Kuntze (R, 588) were elected to two trustee seats; George Rajala (D) got 363 votes. Supervisor David Mattson (R), Clerk June Michaelson-Haataja (D) and Treasurer Kelly Holmes (R) ran unopposed.

Duncan Township

Kathleen Allen defeated Rebecca Ferrell for clerk, 92 to 12. Supervisor Frank Pentti, Treasurer Jane Wyatt and Trustees Barbara Passmore and Joy Sanford ran unopposed.

Elm River Township

President Shawn Hagan defeated challenger Joe Siller, 73 votes to 61. Trustee John Kelly (D, 113 votes) and Richard Trudgeon (I, 74) were elected to two trustee seats; challenger Dale Baumler Jr. (D) got 54 votes. Clerk Robert Sibilsky (R) and Treasurer Lisa Saatio (R) ran unopposed.

Franklin Township

Incumbent Trustee Daniel Dulong (R, 369 votes) and challenger Mary Sears (R, 338 votes) were elected to two trustee seats; Incumbent Trustee John Laitainen received 314 votes. Supervisor Glenn Ekdahl (D) and Clerk Mary Brunet (D) ran unopposed.

Hancock Township

Supervisor Paul Kemppainen, Clerk Richard Hauswirth, Treasurer Richard Richards and Trustees Paul Moilanen and Ken Moyle ran unopposed.

Laird Township

Supervisor Duane Fedie (D), Clerk Elaine Peterson Vassel (D), Treasurer Kim Fedie (D), Trustees Patricia Spencer (D) and Edward Hulkonen Jr. (R), and Constable Francis Tossava (D) ran unopposed.

Osceola Township

Incumbent Trustee Aaron Janke (R, 457 votes) and challenger Donald Wareham (D, 461) were elected to two trustee seats; Trustee Bonnie Joyal (D) received 384. Supervisor Steven Karpiak (R), Clerk Judy Odgers (R) and Treasurer Mary Ringler (D) ran unopposed.

Quincy Township

Supervisor Glenn North (R), Clerk Dolores Kangas (D), Treasurer Michael P. Goudge (D) and Trustees Chris Kangas (D) and Dennis Raasio (R) ran unopposed.

Schoolcraft Township

Supervisor Joel Keranen (R) defeated challenger Sam Buschell (D) 571 votes to 268, and Gary Wenberg (R) defeated Mary Beth Hodges (D) for clerk. 465 to 374. Treasurer Dennis Racine ran uncontested. Kevin Codere (D, 500 votes) and Susan Marcotte (D, 432) were elected to two trustee positions; Gerald Primeau (R) received 423.

Lake Linden Village

President Edward Fisher, trustee candidate David Tobias and Trustees Allan Hoffman, Glenn A. Schuldt and William Heide ran unopposed.

Stanton Township

Supervisor David Chard (R), Clerk Kara Heinonen (R), Treasurer Lori Anderson (R) and Trustees John Anderson and Janet Larson (R) ran unopposed.

Torch Lake Township

Mary Isola (D) defeated Tamar Cieslinski (R) for clerk, 604 votes to 370. Treasurer Diane Zurcher (R) defeated Dennis Pini (I) 574 votes to 342. Trustee Brian Foreman (D, 568 votes) and trustee candidate Scott Sapino (D, 550) were elected; write-in candidate Lou Ambuehl received 86 votes. Supervisor Brian Cadwell (D) ran unopposed.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web