Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Trail Report | Today in Print | Frontpage | Services | Home RSS

Menge secures third term on Baraga Cty. board

Township, village, school board and proposal results also in

November 7, 2012
By STEPHEN ANDERSON - DMG writer ( , The Daily Mining Gazette

L'ANSE - As in Tuesday's presidential election, Baraga County's only contested board of commissioners race went to the Democratic incumbent over the Republican challenger.

Bill Menge will serve a third two-year term representing District 4 after defeating Calvin Koski 463 to 306 votes (59.7-39.5 percent). Of the 6,423 registered voters in the county, 3,540 cast ballots Tuesday, a 55.1 percent turnout.

"I'm kind of happy to win it. I'll be doing the same thing I've been doing for the county," Menge said. "We have to try and make our county move forward. I thank the people that voted."

Menge said during the upcoming term he hopes to expand tourism opportunities in the county and get the county courthouse fixed up.

"It's disappointing, but good luck to Mr. Menge," Koski said. "I thank him for a clean campaign. I will call him and congratulate him."

All other county-level positions were uncontested, and the following incumbents will serve another term: Prosecuting Attorney Joseph O'Leary (Republican), County Sheriff Bob Teddy (Democrat), County Clerk Wendy Goodreau (R), County Treasurer Anne Koski (R), Mine Inspector Patrick Osterman (R), District 1 Commissioner Gale Eilola (R), District 2 Commissioner Mike Koskinen (D) and District 5 Commissioner Bill Rolof, Jr. (D). Paul Tesanovich will take over District 3 after Pat Reilley did not seek re-election.

Township races

Three people ran for two spots on both the Baraga and L'Anse Township board of trustees.

In Baraga Township, Republicans Jerry Dompier and Glenn Juntunen secured the seats with 651 and 643 votes (34.6 and 34.2 percent), respectively, over Democrat Ralph Sackett's 574 votes.

Also in Baraga Township, Supervisor Amy Isaacson (D), Clerk Michelle Fish (D) and Treasurer Catherine Wadaga (D) won uncontested races.

In L'Anse Township, Shelley Lloyd (D) and Pete Magaraggia (R) won trustee positions with 1,051 and 964 votes (37.9 and 34.6 percent), beating Herbert Tollefson's 748 votes.

Also in L'Anse Township, Supervisor P.J. LeClaire (D), Clerk Brian Jentoft (D), Treasurer Kristine Rice (D) and Constables Jennie Nordstrom (D) and John Robillard (D) won uncontested races.

All Arvon Township races were uncontested, with Supervisor James Soli (D), Clerk Lisa Marinich (R), Treasurer Kathryn Drue (D) and Trustees Keith Erickson (R) and Karl Gipp (R) securing another term.

Covington Township also featured unopposed winners, which are as follows: Supervisor Steven Salli (R), Clerk Amy Leaf (R), Treasurer Lisa Karcher (D) and Trustees Larry Ross (D) and Lisa Tarvainen (D).

The same is true in Spurr Township, with winners as follows: Supervisor Michael Hosey (D), Clerk Linda Legacy (R), Treasurer Patrick Gallagher (D) and Trustees Richard Taylor (R) and Rose Ekdahl (D).

Village and school board races

All the winners below won uncontested races.

In the village of Baraga, President Wendell Dompier, Clerk Diane Mayo, Treasurer Cynthia Wadaga and Trustees Doug LeClaire, Jeannine Mayo and Sandy Johnson will serve terms.

In the village of L'Anse, President Cheryl Dingeldey and Trustees Jason VanStraten, Chris Miller and Ron Ervast will serve terms.

Steve Fair will serve on the Arvon Township school board; Nathan Smith will serve on the NICE school board; William Jondreau and Ralph Sackett will serve on the Baraga Area Schools board; and Jason Ayres and Anne Koski will serve on the L'Anse Area Schools board.


Both local millage proposals passed in Baraga County.

Arvon Township Schools 18-mill four-year renewal "to provide funds for operating purposes" assessed against non-homestead and non-qualified agricultural property, passed 158 to 103 votes (60.5-39.5 percent).

Spurr Township's 0.19-mill, five-year millage increase passed 80 to 70 votes (53.3-46.7 percent).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web