Calumet’s Peterson named Player of the Year

The 2016-17 Copper Country All-Conference softball teams were announced after being chosen by the coaches Wednesday.

Calumet’s Celia Peterson earned Player of the Year honors, while Joel Rastello of calumet was named the Coach of the Year. The Copper Kings finished atop the conference with an 11-1 record.

Hancock’s Delaney Heinonen was named the Pitcher of the Year.

The First Team included Houghton’s Cassidy Becia and Harlee Froberg, Lake Linden-Hubbell’s Alexa Destrampe, L’Anse’s Sarah Dix and Maegan Kraft, Calumet’s Emily Erkkila and Kendra Keranen, Hancock’s Heinonen and Baraga’s Megan Kinnunen.

On the Second Team, it was Hancock’s Janie Berg and Jordyn Rowe, Houghton’s Josie Connors and Ally Ronis, L’Anse’s Lauren Gabe, Lake Linden-Hubbell’s MacKenzie LePage and Laura Lyons and Calumet’s Vera Peterson and Allison Spence.

Baraga’s Ashtin Lindemann, Carsyn Osterman and Lacey Sternbenz were honorable mention, along with LL-H’s Kierstyn Codere and L’Anse’s Bailey Froberg and Josie Rice.