Pietila named West-PAC Player of the Year

HOUGHTON — The West-PAC girls basketball all-conference teams were announced Monday with Houghton’s Kara Pietila earning Player of the Year honors, and Gremlins’ coach Julie Filpus being named Coach of the Year.

The first team consists of guards Niina Anderson (Calumet) and Harlee Froberg (Houghton), forwards Eden Golliher (West Iron) and Taylor Sebbas (Hancock), and center Emily Nelson (West Iron).

The second team is made up of four guards: Sarah Dix (L’Anse), D’Andra Kero (Hancock), Anna Malmquist (West Iron), and Kendra Monette (Houghton). Forward Lea Bjorn (Calumet) rounds out the list.

Maddie Dillinger (Houghton), Brea Johnson (Calumet) and Mackenzie Klein (Houghton) all received honorable mentions.