Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Trail Report | Today in Print | Frontpage | Services | Home RSS

KBIC election Saturday

December 12, 2012
By STEPHEN ANDERSON - DMG writer ( , The Daily Mining Gazette

BARAGA - Keweenaw Bay Indian Community voters will elect four tribal council members from a field of eight candidates in Saturday's annual general election.

Voters narrowed the field to four candidates each in the Baraga and L'Anse districts in the Nov. 3 primary election. The four winners Saturday will serve three-year terms on the 12-member tribal council.

In the Baraga district, current tribal chairman Warren "Chris" Swartz and incumbent Jerry Lee Curtis will vie for re-election against former councilman Gary Loonsfoot Sr. and Don Messer.

Susan LaFernier and Eddy Edwards will seek re-election in the L'Anse district against former councilwoman Jennifer Misegan and David Haataja.

Current Chief Judge Bradley Dakota is also running unopposed for another term, according to KBIC Election Board Chair Diana Chaudier.

Polls will be open from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., with Baraga voters casting ballots at the Ojibwa Senior Center and L'Anse voters at the Zeba Methodist Church. Election workers will call homebound Baraga County voters Friday. Marquette County trust land residents will vote 6 to 8 p.m. Thursday at the Kawbawgam Road community building.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web