Lassila wins Jazzy Giroux

Provided photo From left, Jazzy Giroux Memorial Shortstop Senior Runner-up Keith Kus, Senior Champion Dave Beauchamp, Champion Reese Lassila, Runner-up Brett Hauswirth pose after the tournament in Calumet.

CALUMET — The 2019 Jazzy Giroux Memorial Shortstop was held Aug. 3 and 4. Numbers were strong as 54 golfers participated in the annual tournament at the Calumet Golf Club.

Saturday’s qualifying round had defending champion Jay Monticello shoot a 72, earning low medalist honors. Reese Lassila was crowned the tournament champion on Sunday, capturing his second Jazzy Shortstop title by defeating Brett Hauswirth in the final match, 1-Up.

To reach the finals, Lassila defeated Kyle Hauswirth, Byron Parks and Bill Darnell. Brett Hauswirth reached the championship match by defeating Joel Peterson, Brad Gustafson and Wyatt Touriniemi.

In the senior division, Dave Beauchamp captured the title by defeating defending senior champion Keith Kus, 1-Up. Beauchamp reached the final by defeating Cliff Baurle and Jack Kumpula. Kus made the final match by defeating Jim Studebaker and Joe Snow.

Other flight winners are as follows:

First Flight – Alex Hughes.

Second Flight – Chris Cooney.

Third Flight – Logan Rastello.

Senior First Flight – Jim Studebaker.

Senior Second Flight – Norm Nordstrom.

Senior Third Flight – Daryl Dennel.

Senior Fourth Flight – John Hodges.

Senior Fifth Flight – Dan Schmitt.