E-TC’s Besonen named Copper Mountain Player of the Year

Panthers coach Besonen named Coach of the Year

Ewen-Trout Creek’s Elise Besonen, left, was named the Copper Mountain Conference Player of the Year. (Jason Juno/Ironwood Daily Globe)

LAKE LINDEN — The 2020 Copper Mountain All-Conference Girls Basketball Team was announced on Friday. It included players from both the Copper Country and Porcupine Mountain divisions.

Earning the Most Valuable Player Award was Elise Besonen, of Ewen-Trout Creek.

Besonen helped carry the Panthers to a 21-2 season. In the eyes of her coach, the junior point guard worked hard and was one of the strongest shooters in the region as she averaged more than 16 points per game.

“This year Paige has gotten stronger and quicker to the basket,” said her coach Jacky Besonen. “It is something she has worked on as she lifts weights in the off season and shoots just about every day. She has a very nice jumper.”

At 5-foot-3, Besonen said a point guard has to be creative.

“At that height you definitely have to be creative and Paige has a strong drive to the basket,” she added. “She is a great team leader as well.”

Paige Berglund, of Ewen-Trout Creek, was named the Defensive Player of the Year and coach Besonen was honored as Coach of the Year.

Player of the Year

Elise Besonen, Ewen-Trout Creek

Coach of the Year

Jacky Besonen, Ewen-Trout Creek

The Elite Team

Paige Sleeman, Chassell, Sophomore

Maija Rice, L’Anse, Junior

Rylie Koskinen, Baraga, Junior

Makenna Uotila, Ontonagon, Freshman

Carlee Yon, Wakefield-Marenisco, Junior

Copper Country Division First Team

Paige Sleeman, Chassell, Sophomore

Rylie Koskinen, Baraga, Junior

Jaylyne Lindeman, Baraga, Junior

Allison Durant, Baraga, Junior

Brenna Hill, Senior, Jeffers

Miranda Heinonen, Jeffers, Junior

Second Team

Maelene Warren, Chassell, Junior

Reid Osterman, Baraga, Sophomore

Jamie Hendrickson, Lake Linden-Hubbell, Senior

Ashlea Datto, Dollar Bay-Tamarack City, Freshman

Corina Jahfetson, Baraga, Freshman

Honorable Mention

Allie Radcliffe, Republic-Michigamme, Junior

Alia Palosaari, Chassell, Junior

Porcupine Mountain Division First Team

Elise Besonen, Ewen-Trout Creek, Junior

Maija Rice, L’Anse, Junior

Paige Berglund, Ewen-Trout Creek, Senior

MaKenna Uotila, Ontonagon, Freshman

Carlee Yon, Wakefield-Marenisco, Junior

Kailyn Voskuhl, L’Anse, Senior

Second Team

Abbie LeGault, Ewen-Trout Creek, Junior

Teddy Menigoz, Ontonagon, Junior

Addison Mattson, L’Anse, Senior

Annabelle Besonen, Watersmeet, Freshman

Ella Menigoz, Ontonagon, Junior

Honorable Mention

Kate Borseth, Ewen-Trout Creek, Freshman

Nicole Lukkari, Ontonagon, Junior

Hailey Pallin, Watersmeet, Senior


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)