E-TC’s Besonen named to Division 4 All-State team

Ewen-Trout Creek’s Elise Besonen (22) was named to the Associated Press Division 4 All-State First Team on Monday, March 30, 2020. (Jason Juno/Ironwood Daily Globe)

EWEN — Ewen-Trout Creek junior Elise Besonen was named to the Associated Press Division 4 All-State First Team on Monday.

Besonen, a 5-foot-3 point guard, led the Panthers to a 21-2 record and she was also named the Copper Mountain All-Conference Most Valuable Player.

The Panthers fell to L’Anse 39-34 in the Division 4 District 97 final on March 6.

Division 4 All-State selections, as selected by a panel of Michigan sportswriters:

Player of the Year

Bree Salenbien, Adrian Lenawee Christian, Jr.

First-Team All-State

Bree Salenbien, Adrian Lenawee Christian, Jr.

Dani Salenbien, Adrian Lenawee Christian, Sr.

Amaka Unobagha, Saginaw Arts & Sciences, Sr.

Faith Guritz, Martin, Sr.

Brooklyn Robak, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes, Jr.

Mia Riley, Fowler, So.

Hallie Marshall, St. Ignace, Jr.

Elise Besonen, Ewen-Trout Creek, Jr.

Mercedes Simmons, Forest Park, Sr.

Olivia Lowe, Leland, Jr.

Kelsey Richards, Fruitport Calvary Christian, Sr.

Mara Rugen, St. Joseph Michigan Lutheran, Sr.

Coach of the Year

Joel Leipprandt, Ubly

Second-Team All-State

Ally Schultz, St. Ignace, So.

Sophia Vaughn, Engadine, Sr.

Megan Mattson, Munising, Sr.

Tessa Wagner, Carney-Nadeau, So.

Paige Kohler, Suttons Bay, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Katelyn Sweeney, Ubly; Josie Gusa, Ubly; Katelyn Pnacek, Coleman; Ava Boike, Genesee Christian; Dakota Sigler, Camden-Frontier; Morgan Messenger, Bellevue; Makenna Banbury, Hillsdale Academy; Quinn Robak, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes; TiíSyn Callahan, Southfield Christian; Samantha Bissett, Peck; Addison Williams, Deckerville; Emma Riley, Fowler; Briana Smith, North Dickinson; Emmalee Hart, St. Ignace; Sandra Boulton, Carney-Nadeau; Kennedy Englund, Mid-Peninsula; Libby Derrer, Bellaire; Jacey Somers, Bellaire; Madison Smith, Mackinaw City; Kinzie Jeffers, Gaylord St. Mary; Colleen McCarthy, Onekama; Megan Grusczyski, Gaylord St. Mary; Shamya Reid, Redford Westfield; Madison Looby, Saginaw Nouvel; Makaiya Thomas, Saginaw Arts & Sciences; Hannah James, Kingston; Delaney Scully, Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy; Madison Munley, Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy; Jenna Dove, Vestaburg; Summer Smith, Breckenridge; Lydia Meredith, Portland St. Pats; Mia Judd, Lansing Christian; Katelyn Bontrager, Lansing Christian; Gracie Nowak, Morrice.

Coach of the Year

Damon Brown, Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy

Jamie Salenbien, Adrian Lenawee Christian

Brad Fisher, Bellaire


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)