2022 All-UP eight-player football team announced

MARQUETTE — The 2022 All-UP Football Team (8-player) was announced Tuesday by the Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association (UPSSA).

The UPPSA selected Luke Gorzinski, of North Central, as the Offensive Player of the Year. The Defensive Player of the Year was teammate Dillon Raab.

The Munising Mustangs were named the U.P.’s eight-player Division 1 Team of the Year. The undefeated North Central Jets were awarded the U.P.’s Division 2 Team of the Year. Joe Austin, of Newberry, was honored as Coach of the Year. The Mitchell Snyder Lineman of the Year award went to Mason Totzke, of Ontonagon.

Locally, Lake Linden-Hubbell’s senior offensive lineman Kirby Koskela was voted onto the first team as well as his teammate, and senior defensive back, James Milke.

Dream Team

The 2022 All-U.P. Eight-Player Dream Team offense is as follows: quarterback, Luke Gorzinski, North Central; line, Mason Totzke, Ontonagon; line, Riley Murk, Munising; line, Max Nason, North Central; running back, Josiah Peramaki; Munising running back, Sam McKissac; Forest Park; wide receiver, Bryce Buzzo, Ontonagon; wide receiver, Carter Johnson, Rapid River and athlete, Matthew Rahilly, Newberry.

The defensive team includes: Jordan Messenger, North Central; line, Drew Webber, North Central; line, Ashton Wymer, Munising; end, Micaiah Peramaki, Munising; end; Gabe Luck, Newberry; linebacker, Jacob Mattson Munising; linebacker, Dillon Raab, North Central; back, Kane Nebel, Munising; back, Ian Popp, Norway.

Special teams includes kicker Jacob Nolan, of Rudyard and punter Gabe Quevedo, of Forest Park. Wyatt Spade, of Norway, was honored as the return specialist.

First Team

First team offensive awards went to: quarterback, Bradly VanDamme, Mid-Peninsula; line, Kevin Giuliani, Crystal Falls Forest Park; line, Kirby Koskela, Lake Linden-Hubbell; line, Blake Doke, Newberry; running back, Brayden Altoft, Pickford; running back, Marco Juarez, Newberry; wide receiver, Michael Englund, Mid-Peninsula; wide receiver, Spencer Kramer, North Dickinson; and athlete Cam Peterson, Rudyard.

First team defensive awards went to: line, Elijah Penney, Superior Central; line, Eli Sprague, Rudyard; end, Owen Eichmeier, North Central; linebacker, Zach Burton, Newberry; linebacker, Devan Groleau, Stephenson; back, Cody Dabb, Ironwood; back, Aiden Bickel, Rudyard; back, James Milkey, Lake Linden-Hubbell.

Special teams awards went to kicker Adrian Mercier, of North Central and punter Riccardo Moauro, of Gogebic. Wyatt Kulik, of Superior Central, was the return specialist.

Special Mention

Those players earning a special mention (receiving two or more votes) include: Colin Cordy, North Central; Jason Kanerva, Superior Central; Cole Baij, Norway; Austin Gordon, Ontonagon; Mason Hotzberger, Lake Linden-Hubbell; Tristin Syers, Mid-Peninsula; Emmett Vining, Superior Central; Ethan Anderson, Stephenson and Lucas Swetich, Superior Central.

Honorable Mention

Honorable mention awards went to: Carter Dahl, Stephenson; Gabe Popko, Lake Linden-Hubbell; Caden Besonen, Ontonagon; Tristan Kacynski, Stephenson; Seth Miller, Pickford; Michael Peterson, Norway; Sam Roberts, Lake Linden-Hubbell; Lucas Swetich, Superior Central; Elijah Gorzinski, North Central; Garrett Orsborne, Pickford; Mike Perkins, Cedarville-DeTour; Cason Smith, Cedarville-DeTour; Tristin Syers, Mid Peninsula; Emmett Vining, Superior; Dylan Plunger, North Central; Felix Quevedo, Forest Park.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today