Hancock School Board elects new officers

HANCOCK The School Board conducted its annual election of officers at its Jan. 18 regular meeting, with Dale Kero being elected to the presidency for another year. nominated by Treasurer Wendy Chynoweth. Kero has been a Board Member since 2019. His term expires in Dec. 2022.

Catherine Jordan, nominated by Michael Lancour, was unanimously elected vice president, replacing former Vice President Randy Heinonen, who stated at the meeting that he was not interested in a leadership role again. Jordan’s term also expires in Dec. 2022, as does Heinonen’s.

Lancour also nominated Rod Paavola to the Secretary position, which was seconded by Heinonen. Paavola was elected unanimously.

Paavola, whose term also expires in Dec., 2022, declined the position, however, saying he would prefer not to hold the position, citing time constraints due to do an ailing family member. In turn, Paavola nominated Lancour, which was supported by Heinonen. Before the election could procede, however, Lancour first had to withdraw his nomination for Paavola. Lancour was elected secretary unanimously. Lancour’s term expires in Dec. 2024.

For Treasurer, Jordan nominated Chynoweth for her second term in the position, which was supported by Lancour. Chynoweth accepted the nomination and was elected unanimously. Like Lancour’s, Chynoweth’s term expires in Dec. 2024.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today