Lakes, Speedboys earn top conference honors

LAKE LINDEN — On Tuesday, the Copper Mountain Conference announced its All-Conference Teams.

Lake Linden-Hubbell’s Mariah Willmer and Bessemer’s Uriah Aili both took home Most Valuable Athlete honors.

The boys Co-Coaches of the Year were David and Tracy Rowes of Bessemer. Bessemer was also named Team of the Year.

The Sprinter of the Year went to the Lakes’ Caleb Klein. The Distance Runner of the Year was Adam Masurek of Bessemer. The Jumper of the Year was Jamie Jett of Bessemer.

Sam Wilson of Chassell earned Thrower of the Year.

On the girls’ side, Gary Guisfredi of Lake Linden-Hubbell earned Coach of the Year honors while his squad was named Team of the Year.

The Lakes’ Abby Beaudoin earned Sprinter of the Year. Her teammate, Jamie Hendrickson was named Jumper of the Year.

Elise Besonen of Ewen-Trout Creek earned Distance Runner of the Year.

Baraga’s Jaylyne Lindemann earned Thrower of the Year.