Prep Hockey: Loukus named GLHC’s top player

Houghton’s Markham named Coach of the Year

Escanaba's Luke Labre (4) deflects the puck from Calumet's Scott Loukus (11) on Saturday, Jan. 25, 2020, in Calumet, Mich. (Adam Niemi/The Daily Mining Gazette)

Calumet senior forward Scott Loukus was named the Great Lakes Hockey Conference Player of the Year in this season’s all-conference selections.

Houghton head coach Corey Markham was named the conference’s Coach of the Year.

Loukus scored 27 goals and 54 points for the Copper Kings, whose season was halted on the eve of their Division 3 state semifinal against Detroit Country Day, scheduled for Friday.

Loukus’ cousin Dean Loukus was named to the GLHC First Team. Calumet junior Tanner Rowe was also named to the First Team.

Dean Loukus scored 20 goals and 53 points. Rowe tallied 19 goals and 41 points.

Hancock junior forward Austin Salani, Houghton defenseman Ty Halonen and goaltender Jimmy Pietila were also named to the First Team.

Marquette defenseman Jakob Peterson filled out the First Team selections.

Salani scored 24 goals and 53 points during the Bulldogs’ season.

Pietila was the Gremlins’ mainstay in net, playing more than 1,000 minutes with a 12-8 overall record. He had a 2.04 goals-against average and a .922 save percentage.

Calumet goaltender Alex Studebaker was named to the Second Team. Studebaker, who set the school record for career shutouts, went 14-5-1 in goal with a 2.08 goals-against average and a .916 save percentage.

Studebaker’s teammate Cam Kauppinen was also named to the second team. Houghton’s Tucker Tapani and Hancock’s Chad Nordstrom also made the Second Team. Marquette’s Gaetano Cammarata and Escanaba’s Ethan Silverstone made the team.

Calumet’s Alex Mattila, Hancock’s Petr Anderson and Houghton’s Jiseung Choi were named Honorable Mention.

Player of the Year

Scott Loukus, Calumet

Coach of the Year

Corey Markham, Houghton

First Team


Dean Loukus, Calumet Junior

Tanner Rowe, Calumet, Junior

Austin Salani, Hancock, Junior


Ty Halonen, Houghton, Senior

Jakob Peterson, Marquette, Senior


Jimmy Pietila, Houghton, Junior

Second Team


Gaetano Cammarata, Marquette, Senior

Ethan Silverstone, Escanaba, Senior

Tucker Tapani, Houghton, Senior


Cam Kauppinen, Calumet, Senior

Chad Nordstrom, Hancock, Sophomore


Alex Studebaker, Calumet, Senior

Honorable Mention


Alex Mattila, Calumet, Senior

Petr Anderson, Hancock, Senior

Jack Mattias, Negaunee, Senior


Luke Labre, Escanaba, Senior

Jiseung Choi, Houghton, Senior

Andrew Fedrizzi, Marquette, Senior


Evan Hedtke, Kingsford, Senior


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)