Joe Shawhan named a finalist for Spencer Penrose Award

Michigan Tech hockey coach Joe Shawhan listens to a discussion during a semifinal game of the Desert Hockey Classic against Arizona State at Mullett Arena in Tempe, Arizona, on Friday, Jan. 6. (Photo courtesy of Michigan Tech University)

HOUGHTON — Michigan Tech hockey coach Joe Shawhan has been named a finalist for the Spencer Penrose Award given to CCM/AHCA Men’s Hockey Division I Coach of the Year. Selected by the nation’s 60 NCAA Division I head coaches, the winner will be announced on Wednesday, April 6.

Eight coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2022-23 have been named finalists. The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, as well as coaches whose teams have advanced to the 2023 NCAA Frozen Four. Three coaches have done both this season: Minnesota’s Bob Motzko, Boston University’s Jay Pandolfo and Quinnipiac’s Rand Pecknold.

Shawhan was named the CCHA Coach of the Year in his sixth season as head coach of the Huskies. He is second all-time in program history with 119 wins. Shawhan and the Huskies were picked fifth in the CCHA Preseason Coaches’ Poll and finished second in the league standings with a 15-7-4 record–only two points out of first place. Shawhan won his 100th career game at Bowling Green on November 4, 2022, and moved into second place in wins at Tech on March 4, 2023, in the CCHA Playoffs against St. Thomas.

Tech finished the season 24-11-4 overall with the most wins in Shawhan’s tenure. It’s the third time his team has eclipsed the 20-win plateau. The Huskies went to the NCAA Tournament for the third time under Shawhan after earning an at-large bid for the second straight season. John MacInnes is the only other coach in program history to have taken the Huskies to three NCAA Tournaments. MacInnes received the NCAA Division I Coach of the Year honors in 1970 and 1976.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, the site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments. The award will be presented on Wednesday, April 26, at the 2023 AHCA Convention at the Naples Grande Hotel in Naples, Florida.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today