CCISD Board hold organizational meeting, selects new board officers

The Copper Country Intermediate School District Board of Education held its organizational meeting for the 2020-2021 school year on Tuesday, July 21.

— The Board elected the following officers for the 2020-2021 school year: Karen Johnson of Lake Linden was elected as President; Gale Eilola of Pelkie, Vice-President; Nels Christopherson of Houghton, Treasurer; Dale Kero of Hancock, Secretary. Also serving on the Board as Trustees are Robert Loukus of Kearsarge, Lisa Tarvainen of Watton and Tim Palosaari of Chassell.

— Set the next fiscal year Board meeting time, dates and place as follows: All regular monthly meetings will start at 5:30 p.m. and will be held on the third Tuesday of each month at the CCISD Service Center, Conference Room A, 809 Hecla Street, Hancock, MI. The August meeting will be moved to Tuesday, August 11, to meet the Preparedness Plan deadline of August 15, (EO 2020-142).

— Stockero informed the board that he has set up multiple meetings between all the local superintendents and the health department to work on each schools preparedness plan.

— Appointed Thrun Law Firm, P.C., of Lansing for matters regarding General School Laws, Special Education, Section 504, Bonding and Elections for the 2020-2021 school year.

— Approved using Superior National Bank, Hancock; Range Bank; Miners State Bank; and the Michigan Liquid Asset Trust for depositing its funds.

— Authorized electronic transfers of district funds and designated Jason Auel, Business Manager, and Jeff Klein, Assistant Business Manager, as the officials authorized to make electronic transfers for the Board.

— Appointed the firm of Rukkila, Negro and Associates, CPAs, P.C., as the District’s auditor for 2020-2021.

— Board President Karen Johnson made the following appointments to the REMC Policy Board: Gale Eilola, Nels Christopherson and Lisa Tarvainen with Tim Palosaari as alternate.

— Appointed Nels Christopherson as the district’s representative to the Copper Country Association of School Boards, and Dale Kero as alternate, for 2020-2021.

— Appointed Karen Johnson as the districts voting delegate to the MASB 2020 Delegate Assembly, with Dale Kero as alternate.

— Designated Kristina Penfold, Director of Special Education, to handle district responsibilities in the absence of Superintendent George Stockero; and Katrina Carlson to serve in that capacity if Ms. Penfold is unavailable.

At the regular meeting, which followed the organizational meeting, the Board acted on the following:

— Awarded Bid for Roofing Project to Lake State Roofing, Inc., of Iron Mountain, MI

— Change August 2020 Meeting Date to August 11,2020

— Accepted Resignation of Kaarina Eskola, Instructional/Bus Aide

— Accepted Resignation of David Waye, System Engineer

— Accepted Resignation of Christopher Sayen, Custodian

— Hired System Engineer, Hayley Sargent

— Renewed MI-Rehab Office Space Rental Agreement, 2020-2021

— Hired Custodian Ian Figures


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)