E-TC’s Jake Witt garners Player of the Year honors

Ewen-Trout Creek senior Jake Witt was named Copper Mountain Conference Most Valuable Player and Defensive Player of the Year, as announced Friday.

Dollar Bay’s Jesse Kentala received Coach of the Year honors.

The Copper Mountain Conference Elite Team is made up of Witt, senior Devin Schmitz (Dollar Bay), senior Jaden Janke (Dollar Bay), senior Carson Turner (Jeffers) and junior Abe Gockenbach (Chassell).

Schmitz, Janke, Gockenbach, and Turner also made the the Copper Country Division first team, and were joined by senior Aaron Barnes (Chassell).

Witt and junior teammate Eli Nordine were both named to the Porcupine Mountain Division first team, along with senior Jacob Suzik (Wakefield-Marenisco), senior Brayden Tomes (Bessemer) and junior Eddy Polakowski (Ontonagon).

The Copper Country Division second team consists of sophomore Carter Crouch (Lake Linden-Hubbell), junior Elijah Suomis (Chassell), senior Brandon Thompson (Dollar Bay), senior David Jukkala (Jeffers) and senior River Shumate (Republic-Michigamme).

The Porcupine Mountain Division second team is made up of junior Mason Saubert (W-M), junior Cade Mazzon (Bessemer), senior Tanner Balcomb (Ontonagon), junior Tyler Busch (Bessmer) and junior Henry Menegoz (Ontonagon).

Seniors Colton Lindemann (Baraga) and Dylan Hanninen (R-M), junior Ben Winkka (Watersmeet) and eighth-grader Jaden Borseth all received honorable mentions.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)