Needham, Sipe honored by WestPAC

HOUGHTON — The Houghton girls and Westwood boys were crowned champions in Wednesday’s WestPAC Conference track meet and it was reflected in voting by the league’s coaches.

Negaunee’s Chloe Norman, who won four events, was voted the girls’ Most Valuable Participant and Ishpeming’s Jonah Broberg and Westwood’s Nathan Beckman were boys’ co-MVPs.

Westwood’s Chad Pohlman earned boys’ top honors in the spints and hurdles. Ishpeming’s Spencer Giroux received a similar honor in distance and Negaunee’s Tyler Hintsala was picked as the top field events performer.

Houghton’s Anabel Needham gained top honors for girls’ distances. Negaunee’s Abbie Tollefson earned similar honors for field events as did Kyra Sipe of L’Anse for sprints and hurdles.