Working hard off the ice: Lions excel in the classroom

WAUKESHA, Wis. — The Finlandia University men’s and women’s hockey team had a total of 23 athletes named to the NCHA All-Academic team, as released by the league office. To be eligible, student-athletes must have at least a 3.30 G.P.A. and be a sophomore or higher in class standing.

For the men, Finlandia had 14 selections, the most in school history.  Making it for the third time was senior Phil Schader. Juniors Kevin Bostwick, PJ Donnelly and Nate Walerowicz made it for the second time.

First-time recipients were senior Dimitri Samusev, juniors Chris Beyer, Cooper Hoheisel and Milos Todorovic and sophomores Garrett Alton, Brendan Erickson, Max Messier, Dakota Meyer, Nick Solema and Alex Walsh .

For the women, Finlandia had nine selections, which was also the most in program history.  Senior Cassidy Becia made it for the third time.

First-time recipients were senior Sarah Moir, juniors Olivia Hodges and Maddy Wiggins and sophomores Breanna Bisek, Samantha Eldridge, Laney Pasemko, Larkyn Ripley and Arwen Sims.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today