Hebert named Miss U.P. Basketball 2023

Hancock’s Bella Hebert (center) works her way in for a layup against Calumet’s Caitlyn Strom (2) and Isabel Loukus (10) during a game this season at the Calumet Gym. (Eddie O’Neill/Daily Mining Gazette)

MARQUETTE — The 48th annual meeting of the Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscaster Association took place earlier this week in Marquette. Members voted on the best basketball players, teams and coaches for boys and girls basketball for the 2022-23 season.

Isabella Hebert, a senior from Hancock, was honored as the U.P.’s Player of the Year. She averaged 18.6 points per game and 9.3 rebounds per game.

“She led us to a 20-2 record,” said her coach, Ward Helakoski. “Opponents keyed their defenses stop her and had a hard time doing it.”

Joining Hebert with a top-player award was Engadine’s Leah French. She was named the U.P.’s Player of the Year for Division 4. The senior lead her team to a 16-9 record while averaging more than 26 points per game.

With just two losses, Hancock was named Team of the Year for Division 3. At 21-3, Sault Ste. Marie was named Team of the Year for Divisions 1 and 2. The Baraga Vikings (23-6) who were the runners-up in Division 4 girls basketball were appropriately named their division’s Team of the Year.

The Vikings’ coach, Tyler Larson, was named Coach of the Year for U. P. Division 4. Negaunee’s Mike O’Donnell earned Coach of the Year for U.P. teams in Divisions 1-3 as he led the Miners to a 22-5 record.

The All-UP Dream Team is as follows: Hebert, Negaunee junior Ella Mason, Ewen-Trout Creek senior Kate Borseth, Engadine senior Leah French, and Escanaba junior Keira Maki.

Divisions 1-3 First Team honors went to Jenna Maki, junior Ishpeming; Claire Erickson, senior Sault Ste. Marie; Danica Shamion, junior West Iron County; Lauren Zawada, junior Bark River-Harris; and Mari Bink, senior Escanaba.

Division 4 First Team members included Corina Jahfetson, senior Baraga; Makennah Uotila, senior Ontonagon; Emma Besonen, freshman Ewen-Trout Creek; Grace Maule, senior Carney-Nadeau; and Taylor Williams, senior Cedarville.

Divisions 1-3 Second Team accolades went to Meghan Trewhella, senior Houghton; Lena Pleaugh, senior Gwinn; Megan Marta, junior Westwood; Stella Wickstrom, senior Houghton; Lillie Johnson, freshman Gladstone; Anna Axtell, junior Menominee; Meghan MacPhee, senior Marquette; Kenzie Bell, senior Sault Ste. Marie; Nina Bower, sophomore Bark River-Harris; and Anja Kleiman, senior Iron Mountain.

Division 4 Second Team members included Lauren Adams, freshman Norway; Bailey Corcoran, sophomore Munising; Ashlea Datto, senior Dollar Bay-Tamarack City; Makenna Hendrickson, junior Baraga; Emily Jokela, sophomore Lake Linden-Hubbell; Shae Linder, senior Carney-Nadeau; Micah Lindholm, senior North Dickinson; Chloe May, junior Maplewood Baptist; Irelynd McGeshick, freshmen Ewen-Trout Creek; and Madison Thurmes, senior Pickford.

Editor’s note: Winners of the All-U.P boys teams will be announced next Saturday.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today