WestPAC announces all-conference boys honors

HOUGHTON — The WestPAC boys basketball conference announced their all-conference honors Wednesday.

Iron Mountain swept the major awards with junior Oscar Kangas earning Player of the Year, senior Matthew Colavecchi winning Defensive Player of the Year, and Bucky Johnson winning Coach of the Year.

Houghton junior guard Isaiah Lawson was the only Copper County area player named to the Dream Team. He was joined on the Dream Team by Iron Mountain’s Gerald Sampoll-Torres, Ishpeming’s Caden Luoma, Negaunee’s Gavin Saunders, and Westwood’s Ethan Marta.

Houghton junior forward Luke Hill was named to the All-Defensive Team. He was joined by Gwinn’s Conner Dupras, Ishpeming’s Hunter Smith, Saunders, and Westwood’s Eddie Anderson.

Calumet senior guard Blake Tarvis, Hancock senior forward Alex Pietila, and Houghton junior forward Lane Laux, Hill, and West Iron County’s Elijah Oberlin were all named to the Copper Division’s First Team.

The Iron Division First Team featured Dupras, Iron Mountain’s Reece Kangas, Smith, Negaunee’s Baron Heslip, and Westwood’s Andrew Niemi.

Calumet senior center Alan Bjorn, Hancock junior guard Ned Larson, and Houghton senior center Bryce Pugh all earned Copper Division Honorable Mention, alongside West Iron County’s Abel Lundin.

Gwinn’s Waylon Sales, Iron Mountain’s Ian Marttila, Ishpeming’s Parker Gauthier, Negaunee’s Jordan Guenette, and Anderson earned Iron Division Honorable Mention.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today