Minnesota State’s Michaelis named WCHA Player of the Year

Minnesota State senior forward Marc Michaelis was named the 2019-20 WCHA Player of the Year on Wednesday.

Michaelis is the second Minnesota State player ever to be awarded the honor. The other, C.J. Suess, was named Player of the Year in 2017-18.

Michaelis led the WCHA with 20 goals and 44 points despite missing seven games because of an injury. His point

The Mannheim, Germany, native was also named the conference’s Offensive Player of the Year on Tuesday.

Michaelis ended his career with 71 goals and 162 points. His 71 goals are the. most in Minnesota State’s Division I era. He also had 10 shorthanded goals. He was a three-time All-WCHA First Team selection and an All-Rookie selection in 2016-17.

WCHA Most Valuable Players

Marc Michaelis, Minnesota State, 2019-20

Troy Loggins, Northern Michigan, 2018-19

C.J. Suess, Minnesota State, 2017-18

Michael Bitzer, Bemidji State ,2016-17

Alex Petan, Michigan Tech, 2015-16

Tanner Kero, Michigan Tech, 2014-15

Cody Kunyk, Alaska, 2013-14

Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State, 2012-13

Jack Connolly, Minnesota Duluth, 2011-12

Matt Frattin, North Dakota, 2010-11

Marc Cheverie, Denver, 2009-10


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today