E-TC’s Borseth named U.P. Division 4’s top player

Ewen-Trout Creek junior Jaden Borseth was named the Division 4 Player of the Year in the U.P. Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association selections.

Borseth was also named to the All-U.P. Dream Team.

He didn’t have light company. Iron Mountain senior Foster Wonders, a Southern Illinois commit, was named Mr. U.P. Basketball and a Dream Team selection.

Marquette’s Kam Karp, Escanaba’s Erik Victorson and Westwood’s Zach Carlson joined Borseth on the Dream Team.

Jeffers senior Christian Hocking and junior Johnny Schutz were both named to the Division 1-3 Second Team.

Dollar Bay-Tamarack City seniors Davin Hill and Connor LeClaire were both named to the Division 4 First Team.

E-TC junior Eric Abramson and Chassell junior Karl Rautiola were Division 4 Second Team selections.

Wonders, who starred in two state finals appearances for the Mountaineers and surpassed 2,000 career points, was also named the Division 1-3 Player of the Year.

Iron Mountain was named the Division 3 Team of the Year. IM coach Bucky Johnson was named Division 1-3 Coach of the Year.

Escanaba was named the Division 1-2 Team of the Year.

Rudyard was named Division 4 Team of the Year and head coach Jim Suggitt was named Division 4 Coach of the Year.

The Division 1-3 First Team included Escanaba’s Carter Hudson, West Iron County’s Justin Nelson, Gladstone’s Cam Ballard, Negaunee’s Eli Luokkala and Marquette’s Lincoln Sager.

Joining Hill and LeClaire on the Division 4 First Team are Newberry’s Logan Depew, Rudyard’s EJ Suggitt and North Central’s Luke Gorzinski.

Joining Schutz and Hocking on the Division 1-3 Second Team are Menominee’s Aiden Bellisle, Iron Mountain’s Ricky Brown, Escanaba’s Colin Hudson, Marquette’s Ty Lotterman, Iron Mountain’s Bryce Pietrantonio, Westwood’s Zach Beckman, Bark River-Harris’ Trenton Wood-Keshick and St. Ignace’s Jonny Ingalls.

The Division 4 Second Team, including Abramson and Rautiola, includes Rudyard’s Tate Besteman, Carney-Nadeau’s Beau Koffman, Cedarville’s Caleb Kohlmann, Bessemer’s Lane Kortemeier, Rapid River’s Mason Kudlick, Bessemer’s Jack Matrella, Munising’s Kane Nebel, Brimley’s Grady Newland.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today