Copper Country Christian School announces athletic awards

HOUGHTON — The Copper Country Christian School announced awards for its athletes during the 2019-20 basketball season.

Seniors Sierra Jackson and Noah Bach were given special recognition for milestones in their respective careers. Bach was named the boys MVP while Jackson was a co-MVP with Esther Bishop, Margaret Ensminger and Danelle Leinonen.

CCCS athletic director Jen Bach said scorebooks for Bach’s freshman season were unavailable, but his Warrior career point totals is likely more than 1,000 points.

“It’s been such a treat to coach, and sometimes just to sit back and enjoy watching Noah play,” CCCS boys coach Bill O’Connor said. “I don’t think I’ve ever had a more talented player; so many times this year, people would come up to me and say, ‘What an amazing player.’ Noah could have started for any team in the area.  It was nice to know that every time you went on the court, you had the best player — shooting, ball handling, playmaking, sportsmanship, passing, athleticism, competitive, team player. Noah has been an excellent role model of all that.”

Jackson was cited by girls coach Judy Chizek for her dedication.

“I could count on her to focus and motivate the rest of the team toward playing our absolute best,” Chizek said. “Her court vision and knowledge of her teammates was superb, creating great opportunities for everyone on the court to excel. She cared even more about our sportsmanship — she always wanted our opponents to play their best, too. She led the way to help that happen — keeping emotions under control and treating the other team with respect.”

Bach and Jackson were repeat selections for the March Madness All-Tournament Team, voted by other tournament coaches.

Team awards:


MVP — Noah Bach

Defensive award — Ian Balyo

Clutch player — Sawyer Rebman

Big Man Awards — Caleb Bach, Ben Bishop

Most Improved — Miles Brown

Up & Coming Awards — Colby Balyo, Luke Bishop, Luke Groeschl, Joel O’Connor


Co-MVP — Esther Bishop, Margaret Ensminger, Sierra Jackson and Danelle Leinonen

Passion Award — Beka O’Connor

Most Improved — Ella Aleo

Coaches Award — Emma Wiideman


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today