Calumet’s Djerf, E-TC’s Besonen named to Dream Team

Calumet’s Elli Djerf, center, puts up a shot against Kent City during a MHSAA Division 3 state semifinal on Wednesday, April 7, 2021, in East Lansing, Mich. (Hockey Weekly Actions Photos/MHSAA)

Calumet senior Elli Djerf was named to the All-U.P. Dream Team in this year’s U.P. Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association selections.

Djerf, who reached 1,000 career points this year, led the Copper Kings to this year’s MHSAA Division 3 state semifinals. She was joined on the Dream Team by Escanaba’s Nicole Kamin, Menominee’s Emma Anderson, Negaunee’s Alyssa Hill and Ewen-Trout Creek’s Elise Besonen.

Kamin, a 5-foot-11 senior, was named Ms. U.P. Basketball.

Besonen, a senior, was named the Divison 4 Player of the Year.

Djerf wasn’t the only Copper Kings player to receive All-U.P. honors. Teammate and Marybeth Halonen was named to the Division 1-3 First Team, while junior Alexis Strom was named to the Division 1-3 Second Team.

Houghton seniors Paige Sleeman and Maryellen Trewhella were named to the Division 1-3 Second Team. L’Anse senior Maija Rice was also named to the Second Team.

The Copper Kings were also chosen the Division 3 Team of the Year.

Hancock’s Kaisa Salani and L’Anse’s Taylor Sanregret received Division 1-3 honorable mention.

E-TC senior Abbie LeGault and sophomore Kate Borseth and Ontonagon senior Ella Menigoz were named to the Division 4 Second Team.

Baraga sophomore Corina Jahfetson, senior Jaylyne Lindemann senior Rylie Koskinen received honorable mention. Ontonagon senior Teddy Menigoz and sophomore MaKennah Uotila received honorable mention.

Joining Calumet’s Halonen on the Division 1-3 First Team are Gladstone’s Megan Crow, Sault Ste. Marie’s Claire Erickson, and St. Ignace’s Hallie Marshall and Ally Schultz.

The Division 4 First Team included Carney-Nadeau’s Tessa Wagner, Rudyard’s Chesney Molina, Pickford’s Kennedy Guilt, Ironwood’s McKenzie Boyd and North Dickinson’s Ashton Hord.

Sault Ste. Marie was named Division 1-2 Team of the Year. Carney-Nadeau was named Division 4 Team of the Year.

Escanaba’s Mike Beveridge was named Division 1-3 Coach of the Year. Rudyard’s Carlos Molina was named Division 4 Coach of the Year.

Boys All-U.P. selections will be released Friday, April 23.

The UPSSA in-person meeting was held with a limited number of members because of social distancing. The voting panel included Bryce Derouin, Upbeat Sports; Dan Hardenbrook, M-123 Radio (eastern U.P.); Jason Juno, Daily Globe (Ironwood); Mike Ludlum, WLUC-TV6; Matt “Sweets” McCarthy, Iron Mountain Daily News; Bob Nadeau, WRUP radio (Ishpeming); Rob Roos, Sault News and Ryan Stieg, Marquette Mining Journal.

2021 All-U.P. Girls Basketball Team

Major Awards

Ms. U.P. Basketball: Nicole Kamin, Escanaba, 5-11, Sr.

Division 1-3 Player of the Year: Nicole Kamin, Escanaba, 5-11, Sr.

Division 4 Player of the Year: Elise Besonen, Ewen-Trout Creek, 5-3, Sr.

Division 1-2 Team of the Year: Sault Ste. Marie

Division 3 Team of the Year: Calumet

Division 4 Team of the Year: Carney-Nadeau

Division 1-3 Coach of the Year: Mike Beveridge, Escanaba

Division 4 Coach of the Year: Carlos Molina, Rudyard

Dream Team

Nicole Kamin, Escanaba, 5-11, Sr.

Elli Djerf, Calumet, 5-5, Sr.

Emma Anderson, Menominee, 6-1, Sr.

Alyssa Hill, Negaunee, 6-2, Jr.

Elise Besonen, Ewen-Trout Creek, 5-3, Sr.

Division 1-3

First Team

Megan Crow, Gladstone, 6-3, Sr.

Claire Erickson, Sault Ste. Marie, 6-0, Soph.

Marybeth Halonen, Calumet, 5-8, Jr.

Hallie Marshall, St. Ignace, 5-7, Sr.

Ally Schultz, St. Ignace, 5-9, Jr.

Second Team

Lily Alaspa, Sault Ste. Marie, 5-4, Sr.

Erin Barrette, Menominee, 5-6, Sr.

Emmalee Hart, St. Ignace, 5-7, Sr.

Maria Millado, Marquette, 5-10, Jr.

Natalie Prophet, Westwood, 5-8, Jr.

Maija Rice, L’Anse, 5-7, Sr.

Alexis Strom, Calumet, 5-4, Jr.

Maryellen Trewhella, Houghton, 5-7, Sr.

Jordyn Haller, Sault Ste. Marie, 5-9, Sr.

Jenna Maki, Ishpeming, 5-9, Fr.

Paige Sleeman, Houghton, 5-8, Jr.

Honorable mention: MacKenzie Clifford, Norway, 5-7, Sr.; Christina Glodowski, Kingsford, 5-9, Sr.; Josie Hofer, Menominee, 5-5, Sr.; Ellie Miller, Westwood, 5-8, Sr.; Claire Mongrain, Iron Mountain, 5-4, Sr.; Jenna Nolde, Menominee, 5-5, Sr.; Allison Richer, Bark River-Harris, 5-4, Sr.; Annslee Runsat, Iron Mountain, 5-7, Jr.; Kaisa Salani, Hancock, Soph.; Taylor Sanregret, L’Anse, Jr.; Danica Shamion, West Iron County, 5-6, Fr.; Jordan Shamion, West Iron County, 5-9, Sr.; Mackenzie Wellner, Menominee, 5-8, Sr.; Cara Zawacki, Bark River-Harris, 5-8, Jr.; Carney Salo, Escanaba, Soph.; Mari Bink, Escanaba, Soph.; Carney Salo, Escanaba, Soph.; Mari Bink, Escanaba, Soph.

Division 4

First Team

Tessa Wagner, Carney-Nadeau, 6-3, Jr.

Chesney Molina, Rudyard, 5-5, Sr.

Kennedy Guild, Pickford, 5-7, Jr.

McKenzie Boyd, Ironwood, 5-8, Sr.

Ashton Hord, North Dickinson, 5-4, Jr.

Second Team

Andie Arsenault, North Central, 5-6, Sr.

Abbie LeGault, Ewen-Trout Creek, 5-11, Sr.

Katie Rahilly, Newberry, 5-5, Sr.

Elysia Causley, Cedarville, 5-8, Sr.

Taylor Kedsch, Carney-Nadeau, 5-8, Sr.

Ella Menigoz, Ontonagon, 5-7, Sr.

Leah French, Engadine, 5-6, Soph.

Kate Borseth, Ewen-Trout Creek, 5-6, Soph.

Jenna Matson, Munising, 5-3, Jr.

Lizzie Storey, Pickford, 5-4, Jr.

Honorable mention: Morgan Anderson, Stephenson, 5-8, Sr.; Cassidy Barr, Cedarville, 5-5, Sr.;  Natalie Belanger, Rapid River, 6-0, Sr.; Brooklyn Besteman, Rudyard, 5-10, Jr.; Alix Bleau, Big Bay de Noc, 5-6, Soph.; Paige Cappaert, Stephenson, 5-11, Sr.; Chloe Grand, Carney-Nadeau; Daisy Englund, Mid-Peninsula, 5-6, Sr.; Hailey Ernest, Carney-Nadeau, 5-5, Sr.; Corina Jahfetson, Baraga, Soph.; Riley Johnson, Superior Central, 5-8, Jr.;  Lea LaChapelle, Forest Park, 5-5, Sr.; Jaylyne Lindemann, Baraga, Sr.; Shae Linder, Carney-Nadeau; Micah Lindholm, North Dickinson, 5-8, Soph.; Landry Koski, Mid-Peninsula, 5-11, Jr.; Rylie Koskinen, Baraga, 5-7, Sr.; Chloe May, Maplewood Baptist, 5-8, Fr.; Sadie McGuire, Brimley, 5-4, Jr.; Teddy Menigoz, Ontonagon, 5-4, Sr.; Camryn Pederson, Big Bay de Noc, 5-2, Fr.; Allie Radcliffe, Republic-Michigamme, 5-7, Sr.; Tristan Smith, Rudyard, 5-6, Jr.; Madison Thurmes, Pickford, 5-5, Soph.; Makennah Uotila, Ontonagon, 5-9, Soph.; Carlee Yon, Wakefield-Marenisco, 5-6, Sr.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today